

Level 6 Governor Stirling Tower 197 St Georges Terrace Perth Western Australia 6000

PO Box 8469 PERTH Business Centre Western Australia 6849 Telephone: 61 8 9213 1900 Facsimile: 61 8 9213 1999 Web site: <u>www.erawa.com.au</u>

Promoting fair prices, quality services & choice

NOTICE

New members appointed to Electricity Code Consultative Committee

The Economic Regulation Authority today announced new members would be appointed to the Electricity Code Consultative Committee (ECCC) for three years commencing 1 April 2010.

The Electricity Industry Act 2004 requires that the Authority establish a committee to review the *Code of Conduct for the Supply of Electricity to Small Use Customers* and to provide advice to the Authority when the Authority proposes to amend the Code.

The Code regulates the conduct of electricity retailers, distributors and marketers in relation to the supply and marketing of electricity.

The ECCC has four consumer representatives, four industry representatives, two government representatives and a non-voting chairperson and executive officer.

ECCC appointments for 1 April 2010 to 31 March 2013 are provided below.

The four consumer representatives are:

- Ms Julie Abela (Salvation Army)
- Mr Andrew Canion (Small Enterprise Network Chamber of Commerce & Industry)
- Ms Irina Cattalini (WACOSS)
- Ms Effie Harris (Goldfields Community Legal Centre)

The four industry representatives are:

- Mr Ray Myles (Alinta)
- Ms Margaret Pyrchla (Western Power)
- Mr Simon Thackray (Synergy)
- Mr David Tovey (Horizon Power)

The two government representatives are:

- Mr Gerald Milford (Department of Commerce)
- Ms Chloe Upton (Office of Energy)

Mr Paul Kelly, Executive Director, Licensing, Monitoring & Customer Protection from the Authority will continue to chair the ECCC.

The Authority wishes to express its gratitude to the following outgoing ECCC members who have completed their terms:

- Mr France Radford (Geraldton Resource Centre)
- Ms Alison Pidgeon & Mr Gerry Cleveland (Consumer Credit Legal Service)

Further information about the ECCC is available on the Authority's website.

For further information contact:

General Enquiries

Ms Lanie Chopping Assistant Director, Customer Protection

Ph: 61 8 9213 1900 Fax: 61 8 9213 1999

Media Enquiries

Ms Sue McKenna Ms Joanne Fowler

The Communications Branch Pty Ltd

Ph: 61 8 9472 4411

Mb: 0424 196 771 (Sue McKenna) 0408 878 817 (Joanne Fowler)

LYNDON ROWE CHAIRMAN

1 April 2010