

Level 6, Governor Stirling Tower 197 St Georges Terrace Perth Western Australia 6000

GPO Box 8469 Perth Business Centre Western Australia 6849 Telephone 61 8 9213 1900 Facsimile 61 8 9213 1999 Website www.era.wa.gov.au

Promoting fair prices, quality services and choice.

## NOTICE

# Western Power's Proposed Transmission Works to Supply the Binningup Desalination Plant

### REQUEST TO WAIVE THE REGULATORY TEST

The Economic Regulation Authority has approved Western Power's application to waive the regulatory test for new transmission works to supply power to the Binningup desalination plant.

Under the *Electricity Networks Access Code 2004*, an electricity network service provider cannot commit to a major augmentation unless the Authority determines, or is deemed to determine, that it will satisfy the regulatory test. This is an assessment of whether the proposed augmentation maximises the net benefit to those who generate, transport and consume electricity in the South West Interconnected Network, after alternative options have been considered.

A person may, under the regulatory test, ask the Authority to decide whether the application of the test should be expedited, modified or waived because the augmentation would be contrary to the objectives of the test.

In accordance with section 9.23(f) of the Access Code, the Authority decided to waive the application of the regulatory test because the augmentation would not cause a net cost to those who generate, transport and consume electricity. The Authority determined that to apply the test would be contrary to the test's objectives.

The Authority's <u>determination</u> and Western Power's <u>application</u> are available on the Authority's web site.

For further information contact:

#### **General Enquiries**

Ms Karen Tilsed A/Assistant Director Electricity Access

Ph: 61 8 9213 1900 Fax: 61 8 9213 1999

### **Media Enquiries**

The Communications Branch Pty Ltd

Ph: 61 8 9472 4411

Mb: 0424 196 771 (Sue McKenna) 0408 878 817 (Joanne Fowler)

LYNDON ROWE CHAIRMAN

4 January 2010