Media Statements

Last 7 Days

Major Statements

Ministers

Special Interests

<u>Regions</u>

<u>Search</u>

Register for Notification Service



Government of Western Australia Media Statement

Eric Ripper MLA Deputy Premier; Treasurer, Government Enterprises; Assisting in Public Sector Management



Statement Released: 24-Jan-2006 Portfolio: Treasurer

New member for the ERA

24/01/06

Treasurer Eric Ripper today announced the appointment of Steve Edwell to the Economic Regulation Authority (ERA) as a part-time member.

"Steve Edwell brings with him a wealth of experience in the energy industry, particularly in the regulation of access to monopoly infrastructure, and experience within both the public and private sectors," Mr Ripper said.

In May last year Mr Edwell was appointed by the Ministerial Council on Energy as the inaugural chair of the new Australian Energy Regulator (AER).

As chair, Mr Edwell has responsibility for the assessment of proposed Access Arrangements for electricity networks and similar responsibilities for natural gas pipelines in jurisdictions other than Western Australia. These responsibilities complement those of the ERA.

Prior to chairing the AER, Mr Edwell performed impressively as the Executive Director of WA's Electricity Reform Implementation Unit, which was responsible for reforming the electricity industry in WA.

Mr Edwell replaces Dr Ken Michael, the new Governor of WA, and joins chairman Lyndon Rowe and part-time member Chris Field on the ERA board.

Mr Ripper thanked Dr Michael for his valuable contribution to the ERA.

"Dr Michael made a significant contribution to economic regulation in WA as our first rail and gas access regulator and as an foundation member of the ERA," he said.

The ERA manages the economic regulation of key industries in WA through the licensing of gas, electricity, rail and water industries. The authority also undertakes inquiries referred to it by Government.

Treasurer's office: 9222 8788

Government of Western Australia

Content authorised by the Government Media Office Department of the Premier and Cabinet. All contents <u>Copyright</u> (C) 1996. All rights reserved. <u>Disclaimer</u>