





14 September 2020

## **Gas Marketing Code Consultative Committee**

Appointment of members for 2020 to 2022

The Economic Regulation Authority has made 10 appointments to the <u>Gas Marketing Code</u> <u>Consultative Committee</u> for the 2020 to 2022 membership term.

## • Members from consumer organisations

- Kathryn Lawrence Citizens Advice Bureau of WA
- Diane Hayes Financial Counsellors Association of WA
- Graham Hansen Western Australian Council of Social Services
- Members from industry organisations
  - Catherine Lennon Synergy
  - Nina Telford Kleenheat
  - Sarah Silbert AGL
- Members from government agencies
  - Anne Braithwaite Energy Policy WA
  - Robyn Peterson Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety
- Chairperson
  - Executive Director, Regulation and Inquiries, ERA
- Executive Officer
  - Senior Regulatory Officer, Regulation and Inquiries, ERA

Members were appointed to the committee following a call for expressions of interest.

Under the *Energy Coordination Act 1994* the ERA may, in consultation with the committee, approve a code of conduct to regulate and control the conduct of gas trading licences and gas marketing agents in relation to the marketing of gas. This code is known as the Gas Marketing Code of Conduct.

The committee is required to carry out a review of the code every two years. The object of the review is to assess whether the code is still meeting requirements of the Act to protect customers from undesirable marketing conduct and define standards of conduct in the marketing of gas to customers. The committee will begin its next review of the code in late 2020.

## **Further information**

General enquiries

Shane Riebeling Ph: 08 6557 7920 info@erawa.com.au Media enquiries

Natalie Warnock Ph: 08 6557 7933 | Mob: 0428 859 826 media@erawa.com.au