



Notice

24 July 2017

Water Licence Exemptions

UPDATED LIST OF EXEMPTIONS FOR SMALL LOCAL GOVERNMENT WATER SERVICE PROVIDERS

On 7 July 2017, the Minister for Water published an updated list of the small local government water service providers that have been exempted from the requirement to be licensed under section 5(1) of the *Water Services Act 2012* (**Water Act**). The updated list includes the Shire of Morawa, which is the latest local government to be exempted.

The updated list includes 16 local governments:

Shire of Brookton
Shire of Kent
Shire of Coolgardie
Shire of Dalwallinu
Shire of Moora
Shire of Denmark
Shire of Morawa

Shire of Dowerin Shire of Ravensthorpe
Shire of East Pilbara Shire of Victoria Plains

Shire of Goomalling Shire of Wickepin Shire of Jerramungup Shire of Yilgarn

Section 5(1) prohibits a person from providing a water service except under a licence. The exemption applies to the provision of sewerage services and/or non-potable water supply services. It does not apply to potable water supply services. The exemption applies for a five year period.

In accordance with section 7(4) of the Water Act, the licences held by these local governments no longer have effect.

The ERA has updated its website to include a link to the Exemption Notice

For further information contact:

Media Enquiries

Sinéad Mangan Work: 08 6557 7912 Mobile: 0428 859 826

Email: communications@erawa.com.au