



Notice

14 July 2017

ERA appoints members to the Electricity Code Consultative Committee for the 2017- 2019 term

The Economic Regulation Authority (**ERA**) has appointed ten members to the Electricity Code Consultative Committee (**ECCC**) for the 2017-2019 membership term.

Members from consumer organisations

Ms Kathryn Lawrence – Citizens Advice Bureau Ms Celia Dufall – Financial Counselling Network Ms Diane Hayes – Financial Counsellors' Association of WA Dr Jennie Gray – Western Australian Council of Social Service

Members from industry organisations

Ms Catherine Rousch – Alinta Energy Mr Terry Absolon – Horizon Power Mr Simon Thackray – Synergy Mr Gino Giudice – Western Power

Members from Government agencies

Department of Treasury, Public Utilities Office – Mena Gilchrist Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety – Sarah Hazell

Chairperson

Executive Director, Regulation & Inquiries, ERA

Executive Officer

Manager Projects, Utility Services Regulation, ERA

The ERA has appointed the ECCC members from consumer organisations and industry organisations following its <u>call for expressions of interest</u> on 26 May 2017.

Further information about the ECCC can be found on the ERA website.

About the Code

Under the *Electricity Industry Act 2004*, the ECCC is required to carry out a review of the *Code of Conduct for the Supply of Electricity to Small Use Customers* every two years, and provide advice to the ERA on any proposed amendments.

During the 2017- 2019 term, the ECCC will carry out a review of the current <u>Code</u>. This will be the sixth Code review by the ECCC since the Code commenced in 2006.

The Code applies to residential and non-residential small use customers.¹ It defines standards of conduct and levels of services in the supply and marketing of electricity to customers, provides

¹ Customers whose annual electricity consumption is less than 160 megawatt hours.

for compensation payments where standards are not met, and protects customers from undesirable marketing conduct.

The Code covers a broad range of areas including billing, connection, disconnection, financial hardship and complaints.

For further information contact:

General Enquiries

Alex Kroon

Phone: 08 6557 7989

Email: records@erawa.com.au

Media Enquiries

Sinéad Mangan Phone: 08 6557 7912 Mobile: 0428 859 826

Email: communications@erawa.com.au