





10 May 2016

Water Licence Exemption Notice CLASS EXEMPTION FOR SMALL LOCAL GOVERNMENT WATER SERVICES PROVIDERS

On 22 April 2016, the Minister for Water granted a class exemption from section 5(1) of the *Water Services Act 2012* (**Water Act**), to 14 local government water services providers with less than 1,000 customer connections.

Section 5(1) prohibits a person from providing a water service except under a licence. The exemption applies to the provision of sewerage services and/or non-potable water supply services. It does not apply to potable water supply services. The exemption applies for a five year period.

The exemption applies to the local governments listed below.

- Shire of Brookton
- Shire of Coolgardie
- Shire of Dalwallinu
- Shire of Denmark
- Shire of Dowerin
- Shire of East Pilbara
- Shire of Goomalling

- Shire of Kent
- Shire of Koorda
- Shire of Moora
- Shire of Ravensthorpe
- Shire of Victoria Plains
- Shire of Wickepin
- Shire of Yilgarn

In accordance with section 7(4) of the Water Act, the licences held by these local government water service providers no longer have effect.

The ERA has updated its <u>website</u> to include a link to the <u>Exemption Notice</u>.

For further information contact:

General Enquiries Rasmus Moerch Phone: 08 6557 7953 Email: <u>records@erawa.com.au</u> Media Enquiries Tracy Wealleans Work: 08 6557 7942 Mobile: 0428 859 826 Email: communications@erawa.com.au